top of page

My TOP Most Favourite Foundations! High End and Drugstore Gems!


Best Foundations

Finding perfect foundation can be a struggle! I remember the time when I would go to all department stores and get samples in order to find that perfect shade and also foundation that will cover all my needs! I have normal skin type with occasional dryness (especially during harsh Canadian winters) and some oil in T-zone usually during spring and summer. But most of the time my skin is normal and I thought that finding perfect foundation would be so easy! How wrong I was!

After testing almost all foundations on the market (thank you for inventing samples otherwise I would be broken!), I found my perfect match and it was my go to foundation for years!

(Please note that all these foundations I love a lot and there is no specific order based on preference)

1. Guerlain Tenue de Perfection Long-lasting Liquid Foundation - my first high end foundation that I was using the longest! What I love about this foundation that it gave the most full coverage but it didn't felt heavy on skin and never looked cakey! It has silky-solf almost velvety finish and also has SPF 20.I looked flawless and and it stayed all day long! What I don't like about this foundation is that shades range was so limited (6 shades) and it is so pricey! But every time I used it, it was sheer pleasure and I was getting most compliments!

2. My next most favourite foundation is Dior Diorskin Forever Perfect Foundation SPF 35. What I love that this foundation is a luminous foundation with a matte finish. It is also a water based foundation and they works like magic on my skin! It stays all day long and makes skin flawless and poreless! I absolutely love this foundation and recently it got an upgrade to Dior Forever Undercover Foundation claiming to be a 24 hour full coverage foundation with matte finish with 24 shades available at Sephora Canada! Next in my list to try out!

3. Huda Beauty is one of my most favourite brand and every time they launch a new product I get so excited as a kid in a candy store! So when I found out that they are launching a foundation .... I got the wait seemed to be forever! And them I was a little bit disappointed to go to Sephora store only to hear that it is available only online at the moment and guess what.... no sample! Colour matching is such a pain even with a sample! I was so grateful to find out that Huda Beauty posted on her blog "Your Ultimate #FauxFilter Shade Comparison Guide" where she provided Huda Beauty foundation shade matching to other popular brand foundation comparisons. I ended up with lighter foundation which I returned and my second try was a match! #FauxFilter foundation is a full coverage foundation that should kinda give you a filter effect by smoothing your skin and even out texture. For me, as I start using it during colder months, I have to apply oil to my skin first (love using Farsali Rose Gold Elixir a 24-karat, gold-infused beauty oil). Curious to see how this foundation will perform during summer! But coverage is unreal! It covers EVERYTHING! It also has great shades range and I absolutely love rosy smell of it that reminds me of luxury high end brands. It does fade away so for sensitive to smells people, I do recommend to get a sample, but I do not see any problem.

4. Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Soft Matte Longwear Foundation was my husbands pick! We were at special Rouge even t at Sephora right after Fenty Beauty launched and I was trying out and testing out products trying to find out what to buy when my husband suggested to get foundation. He is right 99% of the time (believe me I fight for many many years until admitted that he is always right) and trusting his intuition asked associate to colour match me. Well, he was right! Again! This foundation made its spot in my top most favourite foundations that I absolutely love using! And a separate HUGE thank you to Rihanna for making 40!!! shades available! I absolutely love its soft matte finish that doesn't look or feel dry on the skin. It is medium, buildable to full coverage foundation for all skin types that do not fail! It stays all day long and also claims to have a climate-adaptive technology resisting sweat and humidity, which I still need to test out during summer or hopefully vacation!

And now let's talk about drugstore gems! Saving money is always means more makeup so I absolute down to that!

5. L'Oreal Infallible Pro-Glow Foundation is a great drugstore foundation that gives gorgeous glow to the skin with radiant finish. It provides skin hydration and also comfort throughout the day! This is a medium coverage foundation that can be buildable to full coverage. It claims to be a 24 hour foundation (who sleeps with foundation on? Not me 100%, I invest in my skin) but I noticed that usually it starts fading off after 10-11 hours of wear. You need to use setting powder and setting spray to prolong the wear of this foundation! And of course prep skin really good too! Which I actually always do for all foundations! This foundation is my go to every day foundation that I love to use when going to work!

6. Last but not least and my absolute favourite for vacation or travel time is Maybelline Dream Cusion Liquid Foundation On-the-go. Due to it compact amazing travel friendly packaging, I bought this foundation when we went to Dominican Vacation last March! Humidity didn't affect it at all and it became my favourite every day foundation! I absolutely love that you can easy and fast apply it and if you need any touch ups, no problem! 8 shades is not a big range but I was able to find my match. It gives luminous finish that I love so much and it goes on smoothly and blends well. Same as with L'Oreal foundation, I noticed that it doesn't stay all day long but it least this one is easy to touch up when needed.

As a conclusion, I tend to gravitate to high end foundations when I have special events, occasions or photo shoots. You can really rely on them and they have full coverage that I am a huge fan of! As for drugstore foundations, I really love to use them for every day when I go to work! I still have to try out and test out so many that are currently on the market so if you do not see your favourite on this list, please write it down in comments so I and others can give it a try! Also do not forget to mention why you love it so much!

Have a fabulous day beauties! Stay flawless!

Anna

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page